winkelwagen   Shopping basket

Your shopping basket is empty.


Everything for Percussion:

Follow us on Facebook

Follow us on

to read all the latest news!

Monday 9 December 2019

At the moment, our stores are closed. Tomorrow we will be open from 10am.

Have a question now?

Send us an e-mail!
We will get back to you as soon as possible.

Our opening hours

Quality guarantee

The Unizo E-commerce Label guarantees that you can shop in our web store in good faith.

Learn more...

crumb crumb crumb

Alan Abel: 20th Century orchestra studies for timp.

20th Century orchestra studies for timp.. Abel, Alan

20th Century orchestra studies for timp.


Alan Abel



Publisher Schirmer
Available to order This item is not in stock for the moment. Usually leaves our warehouse within five to nine business days. SKU: 07534

Our stores in Antwerp and Leuven
Current stock status per store:
five to nine business daysAntwerp
five to nine business daysLeuven

save for later

This collection has been put together to help the learning Timpani player prepare for the particular challenges present in 20th Century Orchestral music. It would therefore be extremely useful for the intermediate player who is soon to be joining their first full-scale symphony orchestra, as the guidance in this book may well last them throughout their time there! Cues are given as well as tips as to the instrumentation of movements, the prominence of each part within the overall sound and lengths of rests. Compiled and annotated by Alan Abel. Includes Bernstein's 'Overture To Candide', Holst 'The Planets' and Carl Orff's 'Carmina Burana'.


  • Classical Symphony [Orff, Carl]
  • Don Juan [Strauss, Richard]
  • Fourth Symphony [Nielsen, Carl]
  • Invocation And Dance [Creston, Paul]
  • Jeu Des Cartes [Stravinsky, Igor]
  • Judith [Schuman, William]
  • Medea's Meditation And Dance Of Vengeance [Barber, Samuel]
  • New England Triptych [Schuman, William]
  • On The Waterfront [Bernstein, Leonard]
  • Orchester Ornament [Blacher, Boris]
  • Overture (Candide) [Bernstein, Leonard]
  • Overture 'Colas Breugnon' [Kabalevsky, Dmitri]
  • Piano Concerto [Barber, Samuel]
  • Polka And Fugue (Shvanda) [Weinberger, Jaromir]
  • Salome's Dance [Strauss, Richard]
  • Second Essay For Orchestra [Barber, Samuel]
  • Sensemaya [Prokofiev, Sergei]
  • Seventh Symphony [Shostakovich, Dmitri]
  • Seventh Symphony [Sibelius, Jean]
  • Sinfonia India [Chavez, Carlos]
  • Sixth Symphony [Hartmann, Karl Amadeus]
  • Sixth Symphony [Piston, Walter]
  • Sixth Symphony [Schuman, William]
  • Sixth Symphony [Shostakovich, Dmitri]
  • Symphonic Metamorphosis [Hindemith, Paul]
  • The Age Of Anxiety (Symphony No.2) [Bernstein, Leonard]
  • The Planets [Holst, Gustav]
  • The Rite Of Spring [Stravinsky, Igor]
  • Third Symphony [Harris, Roy]
  • Toccata Festiva [Barber, Samuel]
  • Variations For Orchestra [Carter, Elliott]
  • Variations On A Theme Of Paganini [Blacher, Boris]
(ISBN 9781423465942)